home
main blog page

august 16th, 2024

there are some days that i am glad i picked up my job at the local fareway in my small town, but usually those are few and far between. if you weren't aware, the average minor isn't paid an awful lot for what they work. but working for $9.75 an hour is my best way to earn money at this point in time. it just doesn't feel right, to me. i had expected the initial dread of showing up to go away after a week, then maybe a month, and now it's been almost two. the worst part? this seems to be a common experience. i can tell that other people at fareway are tired, too. we use it to bond by simply complaining about our commitments without trying to solve our hangups.

that's not to say that i get along with everybody there. there's some specific employees who are passive agressive, rude, two-faced, etc. but in retrospect they are probably just like that as a result of being tired of work. with the state of america today it feels like being burnt out is being succesful. work is life in capitalism but it is also the enemy. a common evil. that is, until you find out what type of work you enjoy most. in the future, i don't want work to be seen as my enemy. i wish to befriend it, by finding some hobby that fits me best.

for my first blog post, i wanted to start off strong, but i've actually never done a blog before. i never even wanted to for the longest time. it's still a little bit surreal to me, writing my own website, like i haven't processed what i've been doing for the past 3 days. of course this website is nowhere near finished, but i would like to think that it is getting closer to what i wanted in the first place every day. it was actually a struggle writing this, i wanted to talk about everything at once and it's hard to focus on one thing. For now, goodbye my little internet dwellers! <3 <3